Skip to Content

Apereo Foundation is born!

On December 28th, a Certificate of Merger/Consolidation for Jasig and Sakai was filed in New Jersey and Michigan. As of that date the separate existence of Sakai and Jasig ceased, and the Apereo Foundation came into being.

In December, the Apereo Founding Board, which currently consists of four members of the former Sakai and Jasig Boards, elected pro-tem officers for the new foundation as follows -

Chair           - Josh Baron, Marist College
Vice-Chair      - Robert Sherratt, University of Hull
Secretary       - Tim Carroll, University of Illinois
Treasurer       - Charlie Leonhardt, Georgetown University

The Foundation Board has named Ian Dolphin as Executive Director of the Apereo Foundation. Patty Gertz, the former Executive Director of Jasig, will join Ian as Associate Director for a transition period of six months.