Skip to Content


Jasig is an incorporated, non-profit (501(c)3) organization that exists for the mutual benefit of its members and for the benefit of the academic community in general.  More details about the Jasig's operation and decision-making process can be obtained by downloading the Jasig Bylaws, attached below.

Board of Directors

  • Robert Sherratt, University of Hull, Chair
  • Jim Helwig, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Vice Chair
  • Susan Bramhall, Yale University
  • Jens Haeusser, University of British Columbia
  • Benn Oshrin
  • John Lewis, Unicon Inc.
  • Gary Schwartz, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Tim Carroll, University of Illinois
  • Tom Barton, University of Chicago
  • Patrick Masson, University of Massachusetts, UMassOnline
  • Patty Gertz, Interim Jasig Executive Director (Ex-Officio Member)


Board Election Process

Policy Process
  • Board directors to be elected for a period of three years.
  • Each year, three board directors will stand for re-election, so that with a board of nine members (plus ED), the board could be fully re-constituted within a three-year period.
  • Directors may be re-elected for a second three-year period.
  • Elections will be held in late spring. Special elections may also be called by the Board.
  • If there are not enough nominations to fill all the vacant slots, the Board will select nominees to make up the difference
  • Each Institutional Member and Jasig Partner may vote for each vacancy (e.g., if there are three vacant positions, a Member may vote for up to three nominees)
  • Nominees are not required to be affiliated with Jasig Member organizations
  • In the event of a vacancy between elections, the Board may appoint an interim Board Director until the next election
  1. Individuals may be self-nominated, nominated by Members, or nominated by non-Members
  2. Nominees will submit a brief biography and personal statement during the three-week period following an official Call for Nominations
  3. During the three-week period that follows the close of the Call for Nominations, Jasig Member organizations will cast votes for Board members electronically. The election will be monitored by an Election Committee
  4. Newly elected Board Directors will be announced at the close of the election period.  New Directors will begin their term September 1st of the calendar year.



Jasig_Bylaws_2011-04-27.pdf220.8 KB