Skip to Content

Bedework Steering Committee

The Bedework Steering Committee serves as the governing body responsible for the strategic direction and operational oversight of the Bedework project.  The committee acts as an advocate for the project and helps to ensure its continued health and growth. The Bedework community helps select the membership of the committee and can feel free to contact the committee to provide further input by sending an email to

Current Steering Committee Members

Elected by the Jasig membership

  • Deb Johnson, Duke University
  • Steve Carmody, Brown University
  • Carlos Alonso Vega, Universidad Pública de Navarra

Selected by the Bedework developers

  • Mike Douglass, RPI
  • Arlen Johnson, RPI
  • Eric Wittmann, Red Hat
  • Barry Leibson, Girasole Solutions
  • Nick Blair, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Representing the Jasig Board

  • Gary Schwartz, RPI (committee chair)
  • Patty Gertz, Interim Jasig Executive Director (ex-officio committee member)



  • Capture requirements for Bedework functionality
  • Determine priority of deliverables for releases
  • Determine resource needs
  • Partner with institutions, commercial affiliates, and other community source projects to recruit, acquire, develop resources from the community
  • Assist in grant proposals on behalf of the project
  • Prioritize the use of external funds that have been allocated to the project
  • Monitor progress towards releases
  • Communicate regularly to the Jasig Board


  • One Jasig Board Director, or appointee of the Jasig Board
  • Three Bedework developers selected by the current group of Bedework committers
  • Several community stakeholders will be elected by the Jasig Membership
  • Additional stakeholders may be added as working members, if approved by the committee
  • Executive Director as ex officio member


  • Committee will select its own chair, who will serve for two years
  • Committee will meet once per month.  Additional meetings to be arranged by agreement of the committee
  • Committee Chair will discuss project status with the Jasig Executive Director monthly
  • Elections of stakeholder participants will be held once a year prior to the annual Jasig Membership Meeting
  • Stakeholders will serve for two years
  • Election process will mirror that of Jasig Board, with each Member organization casting the same number of votes as the number of open positions
  • Stakeholder nominees need not be associated with Member organizations, may be self-nominated, and may be nominated by a non-Member